Juse DIY Project: 2013 Planner!

MOOD: onigiri- lightsaber (Creating)
Quote Of The Day: “Look at this shit I made!!” -Juse

Alright ladies and gents! After much anticipation, I’m finally reveling the new Juse 2013 planner!! Woohoo!! First, in case you guys missed it on a previous post, here we go. Every year I design my own planner. The planner is not 100% homemade though. I usually buy the Executive Weekly/Monthly Planner by Day Minder. It’s about $26 I think, which is rather expensive for a planner, but considering I use it all year, it’s not bad I suppose. Problem comes when last year it became very hard to find. I did eventually find one, but I knew it was probably getting discontinued soon or something. Nooo!! My beloved planner!! I literally cannot fall in love with another format, or another type. As many cute ones as there are out there, it’s the actual inside of the planner that I can’t seem to love. This is the only planner that I like from head to toe.

The planner usually comes in all black, since being the DIY Juse that I am. I can’t settle for a plain black planner. That’s when I decided to do something about it and start designing my own covers. Let’s take a look at some past planners shall we?

2013-01-15 18.35.31

These are planners from ’09, ’10, ’11, and last year. As you can see, designs will vary, colors are dramatically different every year, and it just depends on what I’m feelin’ at the time. The design consists of creating 4 covers. The front cover, a matching back cover, and two inside covers. So when I’m finish and attach all my covers, the only black you can see is around the rim. Always had this, and always loved it. Now the reason it’s necessary for me to have a planner is cuz my work is hectic. Let’s take a look at the hot mess.

2013-01-15 18.39.46

Now do you see why I need a damn planner?? I’m writing all up the margins and shit!! Lol. I’m sure they make an app for this but I like to look at my whole week in spread format like this on some good ol’fashion paper. As I complete each task, I highlight it. That’s how I know it’s done. Because I like colors, simply typing this up on the celly is not satisfying enough for me. Then I can’t highlight or use Post-Its or flags. Lol.

This year I decided to tackle the whole design from beginning to end. I opted to use a mini 3 ring binder as my planner. One, I can insert extra pages if I need. Two, I can take out or switch up info more easily. Three, info that I need to keep year in and year out, I can just have it laminated and take it out and reinsert it for the next year without having to rewrite it over each year. The mini 3 ring binder I got, I had from a long time ago, just never used it. You can purchase it from any major office supply store I believe. I think mine is made by Avery. It’s a 1 inch binder and approximately 9×7” in size, but it holds 5.5×8.5” paper. Which is the size of about a regular sheet of paper folded in half horizontally. With my planner, I opted to increase it to 6” instead of the standard 5.5” because I like my paper wider and I like more writing space. Let’s take a look at the process and the final results shall we?? There are 4 major components to this planner. Lets take a look at each of them.

yearly view

First you need to create a year-at-a-view page. Every planner regardless if it’s monthly, weekly or daily needs a page like this so you can reference yourself and make future plans.

month at a view

Next you need to design your monthly views. This is how my old planners were formatted and I liked it so decided to still go with this option. Although the planner is a week-at-a-view, I have a starter page of a month-at-a-view at the beginning of each month. That way, it serves the purpose of a divider between each month and an at-a-glance view to put things in perspective.

planner spread

Then, you need to design the actual planner pages. This didn’t take me as long to draw as I thought it would. I love it!! As you can see, when the binder is spread open, you see the whole week in front of you. The top is left blank so I can just mass print it and fill in the months myself. Then one page has half the week while the other side has the other half. Weekends don’t have work duties so less space is left for it. Within each day, the little box on the top left is used to write the date in. I rounded off the corners so it gives it a simple yet cute look!

The final section is for “notes”, that’s basically just where you divide it off, and put some notebook paper in or memo sheets in case you need to jot something down that’s not really schedule related. Then I had to design the front cover, back cover, and spine. Afterwards, I put the binder together and it looked great! Let’s take look.

2013-01-15 16.33.28

2013-01-15 16.41.07

Complete planner side and front view.

2013-01-15 16.38.09

2013-01-15 16.38.37

Front and back cover close ups.

2013-01-15 16.33.54

2013-01-15 16.34.12

Right when you open the planner, the first page is a laminated hard piece of cardstock. Eventually I will change it out for something with a design on it once I can get to the office supply store. But this will do for now. This is needed both as the first and last page of the binder. It serves as a “page lifter”. This is because with round 3 ring binders, when you close it, the top and bottom pages of the planner might get stuck in between the rings and tear, this will assure that the actual pages have protection and they slide effortlessly when you close the binder. That’s a pro tip! Lol. And you’re welcome! XD Also as you can see, I have tabbed the months off. I should have used pink tabs, but I didn’t have any at the time. *FAILS*

2013-01-15 16.34.47

Year-at-a-view page.

2013-01-15 16.35.20

2013-01-15 16.39.18

Month-at-a-view page and close up.

2013-01-15 16.36.06

2013-01-15 16.36.32

Week-at-a-view and close up. As you can see, the small detailing makes it very cute but subtle. XD

2013-01-15 16.37.04

2013-01-15 16.37.25

Here’s the notes section. The first divider page that I’ve tabbed off, and then the actual pages. Aren’t they cute? just simple notebook paper really with a watermark background. Took me less than a minute to whip up. I didn’t have too many. I think I did 20 pages? I can always add more later if need be. Ah, the advantages of a 3 ring binder. Lol!

2013-01-15 16.37.45

Here’s the very last page. Like I said before, its a laminated sheet of cardstock like the one in the front serving the “page lifter” purpose. Here’s another pro tip. Cuz its laminated, you can stick a few Post-It notes and flags or tabs and stuff on there, so you can just pull it off and use when needed!! They don’t affect the stickiness of the Post-Its at all cuz the lamination is slick, and it doesn’t leave a mark when you peel and stick or re-stick! Neat right?? You’re welcome again. Lol!!

2013-01-15 16.40.35

So tada!! That’s my new planner folks!

I had a lot of fun making it although it was a pain in the ass at the beginning but definitely fulfilling watching it come together. The worst part had to be hole punching this b!tch cuz I didn’t have a mini 3 hole punch so I was using a single hole puncher, and punching a few pages at at time. It took FOREVER!! And my hand was cramping afterwards!! OMG. Must invest in a mini 3 hole punch if I can find one. Lol~! Hope Juse has inspired you to create something this time, and remember that DIY rules!! Hell yeah!! Lol.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

