Team DeeDee Trotter!!

MOOD: (Hooray)
Quote Of The Day: “I’m excited cuz I know an Olympian, he’s excited that his wifey knows an Olympian!” -Juse

So NBC is running the Olympic trials all this week I think. Last night was the track and field finals. I was most interested in the women’s 400m finals, cuz DeeDee Trotter made it into the finals!! She got second place in the semi-finals and was looking great! It still amazes me every time saying that I know an Olympian!! Its pretty awesome! Not only that, but she’s also a gold medalist! Whoa!! Lol. Me and DeeDee went to middle school together. We had English and some other classes together cuz we were on the same 7th grade team. I remember sitting in English class, and she was behind me, and she’d always braid my hair for fun. Lol. I had really long hair then, and it would be in braids anyways, but she’d take it loose, and then braid it again. Lol.

She was super tall already when we were in middle school, and I thought she’d end up playing basketball or something, but I did think track and field. We hadn’t talked after we graduated, and I didn’t realize that she did track and field until I saw her on TV!! I was like “OMFG! Momma!! That’s my classmate DeeDee in the Olympics!!” Lol. In the Athens games in 2004, DeeDee got a gold medal in the women’s 4x400m relay. I couldn’t believe it!! I was jumping up and down. Lol. DeeDee also made it on the U.S. team for the 2008 Beijing Olympics, but suffered a knee injury and didn’t make it to the finals. That was such a shame, but now she’s back with a vengeance!! Even Kenny knows about her! How awesome is that??

I was really pulling for her, not only cuz she’s a friend, but also cuz I know she works so hard for it. She totally deserves it!! I’m rooting for her all the way, and when she got second place in the finals yesterday, me and reason A were screaming at the TV!! Lol. I immediately sent her a tweet telling her congrats! I was so excited!! Now she’s a 3 time Olympian! This morning, I hurried up and downloaded the video clip off of NBC to send to Kenny! He was excited too!! He said he wants to make sure he pays close attention to track and field during the Olympics to root for her!!

I also told all my co-workers and they saw her last night too! Lol. I can’t wait to see her compete in London! We’re all pulling for you girl!! Go get ‘em!!

One Response

  1. Sandy! I don’t know how I found this blog you wrote but I’m so glad that I did! I remember braiding your hair LOL!!! Thank you so much for your support, reading this really meant so much to me and has touched my heart! thank you for being a friend! xoxo

Leave a Reply

